26
Jan
10

A new adventure

Malcolm Gladwell’s book Outliers theorizes about the origins of success, mostly through an exploration of cultural and generational factors. One of his strongest arguments for success is about luck, particularly the idea of being in the right place at the right time. I feel like one of those fortunate success stories right now.

Last week, I was offered and accepted a position as archivist and digital projects manager at Wake Forest University. Collaborative projects, networking, and prior experience led me to become the final candidate for this multi-faceted opportunity. I feel that I was in the right place at the right time. 

I look forward to starting this new adventure and returning to the world of academic special collections. My interview presentation focused on the how and why of archival processing. After exploring the basic concepts of archival processing, I explained what I feel is the reason for processing and digitization — ACCESS. Other than good old fashioned archival processing, I will get to work with Archivist’s Toolkit to create EAD finding aids and collaborate with the technology team to formulate a new digital collections interface, as well as create metadata. I’m sure there will be many more responsibilities and outlets for creativity.

Wake Forest is currently seeking an innovative, creative Director of Special Collections and University Archives, so I eagerly anticipate the arrival of our department’s advocate and visionary. For me, there is much expected, much to learn, and much to contribute.

3 Responses to “A new adventure”


  1. January 26, 2010 at 6:15 pm

    I’m looking forward to this new adventure, too!!

  2. 2 Lisa N
    January 27, 2010 at 7:38 pm

    Congratulations on landing your new job at Wake Forest — what exciting adventures lie ahead! Is your public library sad to see you move on?

  3. 3 Audra
    January 29, 2010 at 3:31 pm

    Thank you! It will be a challenge to lose a staff member at the reference desk, and I know our team was well-balanced. The good news is that I plan to continue my special collections work at the public library as a volunteer!


Leave a Reply

